Share Visualizations

From DMXDeepInsight
Jump to: navigation, search

You can share sheets (worksheets and dashboards) with anyone with a DeepInsight account, anytime and anywhere. When you share a sheet with someone, you allow them to view and edit the same sheet. When you share a sheet with someone, the following happens:

  • You get a notification from DeepInsight that your sheet is shared.
  • Users with whom you have shared your sheet will get a notification. The shared sheet will also appear on the Collaborative Gallery of their Homepage and in the Share Sheets panel in their Collaborate page.
  • Sheets in the shared state will have Share icon.png next to them in both My Sheets and Shared Sheets panel.
  • You cannot share, publish, transfer, rename, or delete sheets shared with you. The action buttons associated with these actions are disabled in the Shared Sheets panel.
  • You can lock sheets. Locking sheets allow editing by only one user at a time.

Share worksheets

  1. In the My Sheets panel, in the Actions column, click Share.png next to the worksheet you want to share.
  2. In the Share dialog, type the username and then click Share. The username is added to the Shared With list. DeepInsight auto-populates the list of users based on the keywords.
  3. After you have added the collaborators, click OK, to close the dialog.

Share dashboards

On sharing a dashboard, you give access to all worksheets added to the shared dashboard. If new worksheets are added to the shared dashboard, even those are shared with the collaborators. You cannot share a dashboard that contains worksheets that are not yours. DeepInsight throws an error message in such a scenario.

  1. In the My Sheets panel, in the Actions column, click Share.png next to the dashboard you want to share.
  2. In the Share dialog, type the username and then click Share. The username is added to the Shared With list. DeepInsight auto-populates the list of users based on the keywords.
  3. Read the warning message and then click Proceed.
  4. After you have added the collaborators, click OK, to close the dialog.

Unshare sheets

If you are the owner of a shared sheet, you can unshare the sheet at any time. Follow the instructions below to unshare a sheet.

  1. In the My Sheets panel, in the Actions column, click Share.png next to the sheet you want to unshare.
  2. In the Share dialog, in the Shared With list, select the collaborators, and then click Unshare.
  3. After you have removed the collaborators, click OK, to close the dialog.

Lock sheets

Locking sheets prevent collaborators to work on the shared sheets simultaneously. Initially, all sheets in DeepInsight are unlocked (Unlock.png) which means collaborators can work on the shared sheets simultaneously. When the sheet is locked, it means, only the person who locked the sheet can work on it. Green lock.png indicate you lock sheets and you can unlock them, and Red lock.png indicate you did not lock sheets and you cannot unlock them.

Locking scenarios

  • If multiple users are working on an unlocked sheet simultaneously, then the user who worked on the sheet first will acquire the lock implicitly and only that user’s changes will get applied to the chart view.
  • If someone locks a sheet shared with you, then you will get a message about its locked state. Any changes you make to the view will be reverted, and a message will be displayed on your screen.
  • If multiple users are working on a locked dashboard simultaneously, then everyone’s changes will be saved temporarily. However, DeepInsight will revert your changes once you are logged out. On logging back, you will not see your changes, but you can see changes of the user who locked the sheet.
  • You can lock sheets you own or that are shared with you. You can unlock sheets with green locks. Sheets with red locks can only be unlocked by the user who locked it.

To lock

  • In the My Sheets or Shared Sheets panel, in the Actions column, identify the sheet you want to lock, and then click the lock. The lock color changes from Unlock.png to Green lock.png.

To unlock

  • In the My Sheets or Shared Sheets panel, in the Actions column, identify the sheet you want to unlock, and then click the lock. The sheet is unlocked, and the lock color changes from Green lock.png to Unlock.png.

Watch video